Drive In Fun!

Well dad and I took the humans to Hyde Park Drive in last night. The local fire dept., police and ambulance came for the opening of Planes 2: Fire & Rescue and Keener but was so excited! I brought him over to see the vehicles and he climbed right into the police car and the fire truck but then we had trouble walking away, because he wanted to stay. I believe there were a few other autism families there as well so Keegan was probably understood by a few. But there is always that one ignorant person that has no idea at all. I am always pleasant in the beginning, and thankfully it didn’t have to go any farther than that, but it still annoys me when people have absolutely no idea. Really? Nowadays that shouldn’t be happening. But I politely explained  that my son has autism and that he might flail a bit when I try to get him out of the car. You would think the woman thought I said “he is severely contagious” she stared at me and it freaked me out more than it offended me. But the two cars next to us have amazing people in them. Just to be safe  I gave the disclaimer to both families about Keegan and his screechy behavior and both families were amazingly nice. It was great to be near great people that were unjudging. So Keegan didn’t watch the movies, but climbed around the van, and then snuggled into me to sleep. So all in all it was a great night, with only a few snags that we worked through as a family. It gets easier as time goes on …

(This post was written about a year ago)

Leave a Reply

